Reviews

If you would like you can post an official Google business review here or in the map above.

  • John came very well reccomended. His process included evaluation, tutoring and re- evaluation which enabled us to really understand my daughter's strenghths, weaknesses and progress as she prepared for high school exams. John made sure my daughter was paired with study groups that were a good fit for what she needed to focus on academically. She was challanged, motivated, and had fun with John and her peers while learning. By exam time she was well prepared and very confident . The fruits her and John's efforts were realized this week with acceptances to all 3 TACHs choices, including a full scholarship to St. Joseph Hill Academy and partial scholarship to Xaverian. Congrats to both and thank you to John. Look forward to working with John again as my next middle schooler looking towards high school.

    Jim A Avatar
    Jim A
    1/19/2019

    I was looking for a tutor for my son and John came highly recommended. He also has excellent tutors that work for him as well. Tim Hadad and Avril Saavedra were wonderful. They were extremely knowledgeable of the material on the exams and of specific testing strategies to incorporate . For 12 months they prepared my son for SHSAT, TACHS, and Regents. My son received two full scholarships to Monsignor Farrell HS and St. Peter’s HS and passed the Algebra and Living Environment Regents with flying colors. I am looking forward to working with John and his staff with my younger son. Thank you very much!

    Tara Sessa-Hynes Avatar
    Tara Sessa-Hynes
    11/30/2017

    My son worked with John last year for the 2018, HSPT, Tach, and scholarship exams. He was a semi finalist for Regis, and was offered scholarships to both Xavier and xaverian. John is an amazing tutor and prepares the kids for everything!! Thank you!!

    Tara Muir Avatar
    Tara Muir
    3/07/2019

    John is an excellent tutor. My son got into all of his High School choices and received scholarship offers. John’s classes made the material accessible and he kept up my son’s motivation. Thank you John for the great work

    moira nascimento Avatar
    moira nascimento
    4/21/2020

    John’s tutoring was instrumental in getting my son a full scholarship offer to Farrell HS, and an offer to Staten Island Tech. His methods are helpful to my son and are the reason for my son’s success. He also tutors my daughter for SAT. I highly recommend his services.

    Justin Chiu Avatar
    Justin Chiu
    3/21/2020

    John was very thorough in breaking down each topic area and giving specific test taking tips. He was flexible in meeting times and group sizes. John offered many opportunities to take full practice exams and gave feedback and stats for each.

    Kristin McMorrow Avatar
    Kristin McMorrow
    1/22/2020

    John is an excellent tutor who really motivates his students, and keeps them focused on their own personal goals. He’s an excellent teacher. I would highly recommend him.

    Dororhy Bligh Avatar
    Dororhy Bligh
    4/02/2020

    Michael D'Ambrose was an excellent tutor for preparation for the high school testing. Michael worked with my son for 12 months on a weekly basis to prepare for the SHSAT, HSPT and SSAT. Michael was always prompt and often went over the hour time slot. Since the SHSAT covers math that 7th graders haven't learned yet, Michael was instrumental in getting Evan up to speed. As a PhD candidate in chemical engineering, Michael really understands the subject and had excellent success teaching algebra to him. We ended the process with 3 great high school options: Brooklyn Technical High School, Xavier High School Ignatius Scholars Program, and 2 NYC private, independent day schools. We are very pleased with the results and thank John and his team for all of their support, communication and guidance along the way.

    Cynthia LaCaprucia Taylor Avatar
    Cynthia LaCaprucia Taylor
    3/28/2017

    John does excellent tutoring, because through him my son was able to get into his first choice school, and also full scholarships to all three of his schools choices. I can't wait to use him again for future tests preparation for all my children. Thank you so much John

    Alta Boulos Avatar
    Alta Boulos
    4/21/2020

    John is a great tutor!!! He worked with my son on passing the SHSAT test and definitely prepared him for it. My son really enjoyed his hourly sessions with John each week. I can proudly say my son scored 596 on the test and made his first choice, SI Tech. Thank you John for all your hard work and experience throughout this process. I definitely recommend your tutoring services and look forward to working with you again for my daughter.

    Tara Lombardo Avatar
    Tara Lombardo
    3/07/2018

    I cannot say enough good about John. He will challenge your child more than they likely have been been but he does it in a way his students will rise to that challenge. My child made honors on all three of her choices and received full scholarships to both Hill and Sea, thanks to John's preparation strategy.

    Dave Clark Avatar
    Dave Clark
    1/17/2020

    I was looking for a tutor specifically for the HSPT and came across John's website. It was the best decision I made. Not only did my son get into Regis High School, but he got other scholarships as well. He worked with the kids, kept us updated and answered any questions we had. My son gained confidence in his ability to tackle these tests and for that I am grateful. Looking forward to working with John again for my other children. Thank you so much!- Marie - Jan 2017

    Marie Allen Avatar
    Marie Allen
    2/02/2017
  • John is lit

    Soph M Avatar
    Soph M
    9/18/2016

    John's tutoring is exceptional and I would highly recommend him! My son scored very well on his TACHS test after receiving weekly tutoring from John. He was very well prepared for the test. Additionally, he actually enjoyed going to his weekly tutoring sessions because John made it enjoyable for them while teaching. Thank you John! Great job!

    Amy Perrotta Avatar
    Amy Perrotta
    2/25/2020

    Great tutor, got me a full scholarship to Sea and Farrell, and got me entrance into SI Tech

    Joseph Afflitto Avatar
    Joseph Afflitto
    3/21/2020

    John was my tutor for both the TACHs Test and the SATs. I received half-to-full scholarships to every high school I applied to. After a successful highs school career I reunited with John to prepare for the SATs. The results were outstanding! I received the presidential scholarship to every private school I applied to ranging from $80-$100,000. I was accepted into, and chose to attend, the Macaulay Honors Program at College of Staten Island, CUNY on a full academic scholarship. I was tutored in group settings and can attest that John has a way with connecting to each student individually to ensure that everyone reaches their potential. For my family and I John was worth every penny as he’s saved us tens of thousands of dollars over the years. John Z tutoring is the real deal.

    John Hoey Avatar
    John Hoey
    4/28/2020

    Used John for Tachs tutor. Great tutor and great person.He has several great recommendations for tutors if he isn't available.

    Darlene Esposito Avatar
    Darlene Esposito
    2/13/2018

    John helped prepare my son for high school entrance exams. He was knowledgeable about the material on the tests and strategies for taking the exams. My son was accepted to Regis and Staten Island Tech. He also received scholarships to Xaverian, Xavier, and St.Peter's High School. I would definitely recommend John.

    Susan Jaenicke Avatar
    Susan Jaenicke
    3/08/2017

    Very happy with my son’s tutoring experience with John. It is because of John’s knowledge, expertise and ability to instruct students for examinations that truly prepared my son for the difficult entrance examinations. My son was accepted into the best Catholic high school as well as receiving scholarships to other schools he applied to.

    Ann Avatar
    Ann
    2/29/2020

    John is excellent and his hard work guiding my daughter thru TACHs and HSPT earned her several scholarships and high scores. John and his team are easy to work with and what he gives to his students will show in their scores. He prepares them and gives them confidence and gives detailed reports on his testing. He is excellent and worth it!

    Nicole Digerolamo Avatar
    Nicole Digerolamo
    1/22/2020

    John came highly recommended to me and did a great job preparing my son for the TACHS and scholarship tests he has taken. My son received full scholarships to both Xaverian and St Peters. He also received scholarship money towards Xavier and Staten Island Academy. I already have and will continue to recommend John to others.

    Ms. Franzreb Avatar
    Ms. Franzreb
    2/13/2018

    This is excellent HSPT tutoring well worth the investment. Starting in the summer, we worked with Julian Rhine on John's team a couple of times a week via FaceTime/Skype. Through that and diligence completing more than 10 full practice tests, my son did well enough to get a full scholarship to Regis High School, as well as a full scholarship offer to St. Peter's Prep in JC, and scholarships to Seton Hall Prep and Oratory Prep. A total of more than $250k in scholarship money. THANK YOU for teaching him the skills needed to ace the test and to walk in with confidence. Julian was tremendous and John was a great resource to us as well. You'll be our first call in a few short years when it's time to start thinking about the SAT....Couldn't recommend more enthusiastically!

    Michele Baer Avatar
    Michele Baer
    2/16/2018

    John is an extraordinary tutor. He tutored both of my sons. We had tried other tutors but John stood out from the pack! My sons even liked him! Thry both did really well and I am very grateful to John! Could not recommend a better tutor! He tutored one for a high school entrance exam and one for college ACTs...

    Jack Doyle Avatar
    Jack Doyle
    4/20/2018

More reviews and testimonials can be found on my Wyzant profile (as well as a background check) and University Tutor profile

“Excellent tutor”

John is an excellent tutor! He has thoroughly prepared my son for his high school entrance exams.
John is an extremely intelligent individual but more importantly he is an effective teacher! I highly recommend John Z.!
If my son needs a tutor in high school I will be calling on John and he will definitely be the one I have tutor my son for PSAT/SAT.

Thank you, John. Thanks so much!  -Liz , Breezy Point, NY on 10/15/14

“Fantastic Tutor”

John walks in the door and starts talking Chemistry. His teaching is dynamic and interactive. After struggling through an honors chem class for half of the year, I engaged John to tutor my son. The class was geared towards taking the SAT 2 Chem exam and my son had been scoring well below class average on many of the exams. Long story short, with John’s help he ended up scoring 770/800 on the Chem SAT 2. John was pleasant, optimistic, upbeat, and a pleasure to deal with and the proof is in the results.    – Michael, New York, NY on 7/15/14

“Highly Recommended Professional Tutor “

We hired John to prepare our son for the NYS Chemistry Regents because he had a history of scoring below expectations on standardized tests. John clarified Chemistry beyond simple understanding of typical daily objectives, and general syllabus. He taught numerous concepts, critical thinking, and the, “how-tos” of analytical thinking; far exceeding the classroom teacher’s criterion. Furthermore, John enriched my son’s sophomore year beyond books, study guides, and worksheets. Specifically, he designed individualized instructional plans that surpassed state standards, engaging my son in the learning process with great success, and tremendous confidence.

John meticulously addressed the relative topics highlighted in Chemistry standards, and regent’s exams. He typically prepared detailed, and carefully outlined study guides. John encourages building from his student’s mastery of key concepts, (i.e. point of reference) instilling confidence with simple, yet thorough, explanations and examples of new, more complex material. As well, John’s lessons are comprehensive, encompassing a wide range of subjects. He ensures his student’s understand mathematical concepts in correlation with scientific themes, while simultaneously building a foundation for future lessons. John clearly knows his subject matter, explaining even the most elusive material in a logical, concise manner.

John engages parents with detailed feedback, evaluating the student’s mastery of concepts and/or prescription for review. In follow-up lessons, he spends extra time reassessing difficult topics with patience, and positive reinforcement. John is truly a phenomenal mentor and “academic coach.” SO, How did my son do on the regents? He passed the Chemistry Regents with flying colors, scoring in close proximity to the top students in the school. We are thrilled to have John as a valuable resource for my son, and look forward to continuing this wonderful relationship in the upcoming school term.

-Kate on Staten Island for her son at St. Peter’s High School in Fall 2013

My son had some challenges with his Physics. John has been a tremendous help in tutoring my son with his Physics class. He scored very well in his final exam. With John’s help, Physics became one of my son’s favorite classes. Thank you very much, John!!
– Caroline in Brooklyn for her son at Stuyvesant High School in Spring 2013

“Very Thorough!”

John is very punctual and has tremendous amount of patience. He zero’s in on your weaknesses and strengthens them, leading to a very strong understanding of the material. Highly recommend for science and math majors!

– James in Brooklyn at St Francis College in 2013

It has been a pleasure to be tutored by John. I am a pre-pharmacy student at Long Island Univeristy. He has helped me do well in both chemistry and calculus. He is very reliable and very patient. He is always willing to help at whatever time of the day! I couldn’t ask for a better tutor !

– Argiroula in Brooklyn at Long Island University  in Spring 2013

After my son started with John his grades went up and with grades confidence level went up. Great tutor. Thanks John!

Additionally, retaking the SAT after working with John on the Math section, my son went up 80 points.

– Gary in Brooklyn 2013 for his son in Physics, AlgebraII/Trig, and Sat Math

“Patient, thorough and supportive tutor”

John is a well prepared patient tutor who easily connected with our daughter. He is well prepared and thorough with his lessons. His strategies are well thought out making it easy for her to get the concept. He is a far superior teacher to her professor at her college. She is actually staring to enjoy chemistry because of his intervention. His very positive and supportive attitude is very encouraging to her. John’s tutoring just keeps getting better. She is almost over in the course and he has helped her tremendously with both her grade and her confidence. John is an outstanding educator.
He is now working with our younger daughter in geometry. Very accessible to both our daughters. Just great!

– Dr Victoria in Brooklyn for her daughters in Rutgers and Murrow 2013

John knows his subject in chemistry well. For me Chemistry is not easy and I was boarding on the line of failing and having to take the course over again. John is teaching me chemistry in a fashion that I can understand and apply. He is an excellent tutor and he addresses the issue exactly in a friendly personality so I am always comfortable asking questions. John doesn’t feel bad if I don’t get the material quickly, he always succeeds in finding a way for me to understand. His patience and listening skills help me the most when I have a hard time with problem and he address that issue exactly. John doesn’t just tell you, he shows you and teaches you in a way that you have the tools to do it yourself. John has gone beyond his tutoring duties by following up to see how I am doing and I am gaining confidence that I can do this on my own. My test is today and for the first time I have confidence I will do well. I Highly recommend him to anyone suffering in chemistry.

– Beatrice in Brooklyn, Chemistry at College of Staten Island, Spring 2013

He is very competent, knowledgeable, and clear in his explanations. He also expands beyond the curriculum and teaches useful techniques/information not mentioned the course provided by the school.

-Dr. Isolda on Staten Island, Chemistry at Staten Island Technical High School, 2013

Before I begin here is a excerpt of what it means to really go over the materials:
“We went over problems that mostly dealt with the Carnot cycle and the second law (q = Tds). Energy entering the system is positive; energy leaving the system is negative (for both q and w). We went over an efficiency problem where work, q at the hot isotherm, and q at the cold isotherm are found. We went over calculating the change in enthalpy, internal energy, entropy, and Gibbs free energy. We calculated the change in entropy through a phase change and noted the similarities and differences between a liquid warming a solid through a phase change (q)”
John knows his material and will provide an excellent guidelines to solving the problems. What is important to me and I’m sure other students are tutors who not only show the solutions to problems, but that also teach you in your level and speed and give you a chance to understand visually what is happening in the problem. And John succeeded in delivering all that. Every problem that we do, he helps me figure out the solution on my own so I can do other problems and succeed on tests. I only wish John would be our professor in my class because I would definitely succeed.
-Dmitry in Brooklyn at Hunter College for Biophysical Chemistry in Spring 2013

Reviews of TACHS, SHSAT, HSPT:

Your tutoring is giving him confidence and is helpful. He felt that he was “on” tonight. – Thanks – Sept 10, 2014

Math is the weaker subject for him and I am convinced his 90 on his math test is due to the tutoring. – Kara, Oct 1, 2014

He really likes being in your class & I think he gets a lot out if it! Thanks for the hard work! – Christine, October 15, 2014

Thanks for everything you’ve done for Michael. He is attacking these tests with confidence, and I have you to thank for that! –Kathy Nov 5, 2014

I asked what he liked and he said that liked everything–he really thinks you r a great tutor. – Cathy, September 20, 2014

Ty for all your help the past year. – Cindy, November 7, 2014

More reviews and testimonials can be found here (as well as a background check) and here

Email me Tutor@MasterofChemistry.com to schedule an introductory tutoring lesson

Contact Me